Rothamsted Research

where knowledge grows


Department Press Releases

The BBSRC invest in Rothamsted Research’s science strategy

Every five years, Rothamsted Research develops a revised science strategy, in order to deliver the knowledge and innovation required to address grand challenges faced by farmers and society for food production and environmental sustainability. Rothamsted Research is a Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) strategically supported institute and investment by the BBSRC in Rothamsted’s science strategy, follows a robust, independent and international peer review process.

Rothamsted Research Celebrates £2,500 gift from the Patron's Fund

Rothamsted Research is celebrating after receiving a £2,500 gift from The Patron’s Fund, the charitable fund set up to acknowledge the work of the charitable organisations for which Her Majesty, The Queen acts as a Patron, on the occasion of her 90th birthday.

Industry joins forces to tackle global food challenges

International agri-businesses, scientists and researchers have committed to working together to answer some of the biggest challenges facing global food security. From boosting sustainable food production in Africa to using data to drive efficiencies in UK farming, each new collaboration to be developed hopes to deliver real benefits on the ground.

Global innovators join forces to answer agri-food challenges

The Rothamsted Open Innovation Forum (ROIF), which will be held from 18-20 January, is attracting industry leaders from around the world to try and provide solutions to global food challenges. “It’s clear from the range of pre-competitive pitches we’ve received that the breadth of topics the forum will cover will be extremely broad,” says Chris Dunkley, chief executive of Rothamsted Centre for Research and Enterprise.

Rothamsted Research launches Annual Review

The Annual Review 2015/2016 was launched today, celebrating some of the research highlights and accomplishments of staff at Rothamsted Research over the past year. The printed Annual Review is accompanied by a digital version and video available on the Rothamsted Research website.

Institute Director receives Honorary Doctorate from University of Hertfordshire

The University of Hertfordshire has awarded Professor Achim Doberman with an Honorary Doctorate of Science for his contributions to food security and sustainability. The award was presented on Friday 9th September. Professor Dobermann is an internationally recognised authority on science and technology for food security and sustainable management of cereal crops, having authored or co-authored over 250 scientific papers and several books. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and a Fellow of the Soil Science Society of America.


Department People

title First Name Last Name Department Locationsort descending
View Mrs Amy Dodd Directorate
View Mrs Lucy Wansbury Directorate
View Mrs Donna Lipsky Directorate Harpenden
View Dr Simon Vaughan Directorate Harpenden
View Miss Lucy Hyde Plant Biology and Crop Science, Directorate Harpenden
View Ms Carol Oliver Directorate Harpenden
View Mrs Carol Connett Directorate Harpenden
View Miss Louise Warren Business Information Services, Directorate Harpenden
View Miss Kerry Lapworth Directorate Harpenden
View Dr Khalid Mahmood Directorate Harpenden
View Ms Bianca Forte Directorate Harpenden
View Prof Johnathan Napier Biological Chemistry and Crop Protection, Directorate Harpenden
View Mr Jervis Haynes Directorate Harpenden
View Mrs Jing Zhang Directorate Harpenden
View Mrs Margaret Insalaco Directorate Harpenden
View Miss Charlotte Cornwall Directorate Harpenden
View Mrs Nicola Seymour Directorate Harpenden
View Prof John Pickett Directorate Harpenden
View Mr Graham Shephard Directorate Harpenden
View Miss Janna Corley Directorate Harpenden
View Mr Nadeem Masih Directorate Harpenden
View Prof John Crawford Sustainable Soil and Grassland Systems, Directorate Harpenden
View Prof Achim Dobermann Directorate Harpenden
View Mr Paul Beeney Directorate Harpenden
View Dr Andrew Spencer Directorate Harpenden
View Mr Daniel Hansen Directorate Harpenden
View Mrs Lynda Castle Directorate Harpenden
View Mrs Karen Richards Directorate, Biological Chemistry and Crop Protection Harpenden